Mirrorless......?

Do you have anything specific to say about any cameras or lenses? Or fancy recommending a really good one you have come across? Post in here
Photoman60

Mirrorless......?

Post by Photoman60 » Mon Jul 25, 2016 11:06 pm

Back in the 80s, alongside my Canon rigs, I shot with a Leica M4P with a 28mm Summicron lens attached. Over the decades as the AF and later DSLRs began to dominate the scene, I found myself using the M4 less and less, so a few years back I sold both the body and lens (which in hindsight..... :( ). So, over the years I have begun scaling back my equipment as carrying around all that gear only gets in the way. While I still plan on staying with DSLRs, I am interested in looking at the possibility of shooting with mirrorless again. My background is news shooting though I am primarily a travel and editorial shooter these days with some commercial work thrown in. These days showing up with one of my EOS 1Ds, is often greeted with hostility or being hit up with a $50.00-$100.00 charge to enter some museums and other venues (I was denied entrance to a local amusement park recently because on my huge DSLR and their "No Pro photographers Allowed" policy, though most folks were armed with the smart phone cameras and many mirrorless cameras passed through with no questions asked). So this got me thinking about mirrorless. As many of the current crop of mirrorless rigs can keep up with DSLRs with regards to image quality and the fact they are far more portable is very attractive to me, however the biggest selling point is no one (or very few) with give you are hard time about entering their venues with a "non-professional looking camera". So over the past month or so I have been been watching at a ton of Youtube vids, reviews, ect... The Olympus Pen F has really piqued my interests, so, anyone shoot with that camera..... if so what are your thoughts? Thoughts and opinions on any and all mirrorless outfits are welcome. I must say, as a Canon sh